Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Kylie Coutts)


Angel Olsen announces new album 'Whole New Mess'


Angel Olsen has announced her new album, Whole New Mess, is due out on August 28 through Jagjaguwar.

The record, which arrives as the eagerly anticipated follow-up to last year’s effort All Mirrors, is the first material the musician has record and released without bandmates since 2012 record Half Way Home.

“I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that—I’d lost friendships, too. When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships,” Olsen said of the new material.

Adding: “I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

The new record will also included stripped back and intimate versions of the material included on Olsen’s previous album All Mirrors.

For now, stream the record’s lead single and view the full tracklisting below.

Angel OIsen Whole New Mess:

01 Whole New Mess
02 Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
03 (New Love) Cassette
04 (We Are All Mirrors)
05 (Summer Song)
06 Waving, Smiling
07 Tonight (Without You)
08 Lark Song
09 Impasse (Workin’ for the Name)
10 Chance (Forever Love)
11 What It Is (What It Is)