Subscribe to our newsletter

Alex Lahey announces new album 'The Best of Luck Club'


Australian singer-songwriter Alex Lahey has announced the impending release of her new album The Best of Luck Club.

The record, which is a follow-up of 2017’s successful debut album Love You Like a Brother, will be released via Nicky Boy Records and Dead Oceans.”I’m very excited to announce my new record ‘The Best Of Luck Club’ out 17 May via Nicky Boy Records and Dead Oceans, and I’m going to be bringing these songs around Australia in June,” she said in a post on social media.

To coincide with the news, the Melbourne-based musician has shared the lead single, titled ‘Don’t Be So Hard on Yourself’ which arrives as Far Out’s Track of the Day. The song is delivered with a video which has been written and directed by Callum Preston.

Speaking about the record, Lahey said: “In I was really inspired by the dive bar scene there and the idea that at these dive bars there’s no pretentious energy.”

She added: “Whether you’ve had the best day of your life or the worst day of your life, you can just sit up at the bar and turn to the person next to you — who has no idea who you are — and have a chat. And the response that you generally get at the end of the conversation is, ‘Best of luck,’ so The Best Of Luck Club is that place.”

Here it is:

The Best of Luck Club Tracklisting:
01 – I Don’t Get Invited to Parties Anymore
02 – Am I Doing It Right
03 – Interior Demeanour
04 – Don’t Be So Hard on Yourself
05 – Unspoken History
06 – Misery Guts
07 – Isabella
08 – I Need to Move On
09 – Black RMs
10 – I Want to Live With Yo