Subscribe to our newsletter

Wire reveal new single 'Short Elevated Period' alongside 'Silver/Lead' album news


Wire reveal new single 'Short Elevated Period' alongside 'Silver/Lead' album news


Wire kick off extensive celebrations for their 40th year as a band with news of a another new album.

Silver/Lead, is due for release on March 31st via the band’s pinkflag label and today they share a first taste with track ‘Short Elevated Period’.

Remarkably, Silver/Lead is the 15th studio album from musical pioneers Wire and it arrives on the 40th anniversary of their debut performance.

Despite early trepidation, the new full-length is about as far from a sickly nostalgia record as you could get. Silver/Lead is the sound of a uniquely addictive 21st century psychedelic post-punk.

Colin Newman and Matt Simms’ guitar work is alternately jagged and luminous, while bassist Graham Lewis’s ear-catching lyrics are vivid yet oblique. Meanwhile, drummer Robert Grey provides a virtual masterclass in percussive minimalism. But it’s how the various instruments mesh together that really counts. And Newman’s production creates a sonic space in which even the smallest gesture is accorded some recognition.

Highlights include the optimistic dazzle of ‘Diamonds In Cups’, with its almost T. Rex-style buzz and chug, and the moody swing of ‘This Time’.

Silver/Lead track list:
1. Playing Harp For The Fishes
2. Short Elevated Period
3. Diamonds in Cups
4. Forever & A Day
5. An Alibi
6. Sonic Lens
7. This Time
8. Brio
9. Sleep On The Wing
10. Silver/Lead