Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Whitney


Whitney announce covers album titled 'Candid'


Whitney have confirmed the release of a new covers album titled Candid which will be available on 14th August through Secretly Canadian.

The release comes after the band previously shared their reworkings of John Denver’s ‘Take Me Home, Country Roads’ and SWV’s ‘Rain’.

Drummer and singer Julien Ehrlich explains: “This could’ve been as simple as saying we really love these songs and we love our bandmates and making a covers record just felt right, but it truly became an exploration into how we can evolve as a band going forward.”

Ehrlich then discussed Whitney’s brand new cover of The Roches’ ‘Hammond Song’: “We both discovered ‘Hammond Song’ because Chris Coady sent it to us years ago as a reference for recording when we were making the last Smith Westerns record.

Adding: “It became a song that was always around for us and then we showed it to the rest of the band. This cover is the longest Whitney recording ever and pretty much everything you hear on it is totally live, save for the horns and the slide solo. For a five minute song, if you mess up one part you have to do the whole thing live all over again.”

Check out the cover of ‘Hammond Song’ below and the tracklisting for Candid.

Follow Far Out Magazine across our social channels, on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Whitney –Candid Tracklisting

  1. ‘Bank Head’
  2. ‘A.M. A.M’
  3. ‘Take Me Home, Country Roads’ (Ft. Waxahatchee)
  4. ‘High on a Rocky Ledge’
  5. ‘Something Happen’
  6. ‘Strange Overtones’
  7. ‘Hammond Song’
  8. ‘Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying’
  9. ‘Rain’
  10. ‘Rainbows and Ridges’