Subscribe to our newsletter


Watch The National unleash new songs live in Paris


The National took the opportunity to debut a bunch of new songs off their upcoming album, Sleep Well Beast, during a show in Paris.

The band was playing an intimate set as a lead up to their headline show at Paris’ Pitchfork Music Festival and streamed the full thing online.

A set that included fan favourites also saw the introduction of ‘Guilty Party’ ‘Nobody Else Will Be There’, ‘Carin At The Liquor Store’, title track ’Sleep Well Beast’ and lead single ‘The System only Dreams In Total Darkness’.

Nobody Else Will Be There – 5:07
Day I Die – 9:21
Walk It Back – 14:36
The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness – 20:50
Guilty Party – 25:22
Empire Line – 31:50
Carin at the Liquor Store – 37:26
Apartment Story – 41:15
Daughters – 45:05
Sleep Well Beast – 49:47
Fake Empire – 57:26
Terrible Love – 1:02:13
Turtleneck – 1:06:55

Watch the full performance, here: