Subscribe to our newsletter

Thom Yorke announces a brand new limited edition 'zine


Radiohead’s Thom Yorke has announced that he will soon be releasing a limited edition ‘zine in collaboration with the weird and wonderful people over at Crack Magazine.

The publication will take the name Crack Magazine Present I See You and will be a hundred-page zine featuring a range of interviews with artists and activists handpicked by Yorke himself. It takes a somewhat unusual format as Thom Yorke sent across the same set of questions to the eight different people below.

  • Synth pioneer Laurie Spiegel
  • Climate activist George Monbiot
  • Poet and writer Harry Josephine Giles
  • Contemporary artist Amy Cutler
  • Fashion designer Jun Takahashi
  • Call Me By Your Name and Suspiria remake director Luca Guadagnino
  • Experimental musician Kali Malone, and
  • Artist Christian Holstad.

“[Their] disparate answers are presented together alongside a patchwork of visual fragments from each interviewee’s world,” the zine’s official description reads. I See You will be naturally blessed by a foreword from Yorke as well as art by Radiohead collaborator Stanley Donwood and Dr. Tchock.

Some of the questions included can be seen on the preview: “What does resistance in 2019 look and/or sound like? How does it dance?” and “What is a personal fear you’d like to conquer? Or at least come to terms with.” Yorke himself also answers the questions.

[MORE] – Manager reveals what Thom Yorke told Billie Eilish after recent meeting

I See You is detailed as “an expansion” on Yorke’s cover story for Crack Magazine a few months ago, and is further established as “an assessment of anxieties, futures, sustainability and opposition.”

Though Crack Magazine and the official Radiohead W.A.S.T.E HQ store have apparently sold out of the issue, it’s still available from XL Recordings for a princely £20. Profits from the zine will go to Greenpeace.