The Prettiots stream new single ‘Stabler’

The Prettiots are a duo from New York City and the latest signing for Rough Trade’s illustrious roster. They don’t look out of place though with their wry lyrics and 90’s tinged indie sound. Tongue-in-cheek and sarcastic to the last the band epitomise a youthful dissonance summed up in their new track ‘Stabler’.

If you’re a fan of American television you may pick up on this name as the name of the Detective with a heart of gold from NBC’s ‘Law and Order’. The track focuses on Stabler as an icon of how good a relationship can be.

Frontwoman Kay says ”Elliot Stabler is definitely my type. A strong, dominant man with a love for justice and doing the right thing, an unpredictable temper, a strong sense of family values and some good tattoos. He doesn’t necessarily play by the rules but he always gets the job done. “

This candid honesty about love and life is typical of The Prettiots style and substance. They are one of those ever-elusive ‘normal’ bands. Using real imagery, current affairs, personal affliction to provide an identifying sound which resonates amongst their audience.

With a UK tour kicking off soon expect to be hearing a lot more of The Prettiots.

The Prettiots’ first ever UK/European tour kicks off today:

Mon, 19th Oct – DDW, Eindhoven, Netherlands – ticket link

Tues, 20th Oct – Vega’s New Crush, Copenhagen, Denmark – ticket link

Sun, 25th Oct – Buzz Boutique @ Vienna Arena, Vienna, Austria – ticket link

Wed, 28th Oct – Village Underground w/Curtis Harding, London, UK – ticket link

Thurs, 29th Oct – Tivoli Vredenburg w/ Curtis Harding, Utrecht, Netherlands – ticket link

Sat, 31st Oct – Motorbooty @Molotow, Hamburg, Germany – ticket link

Sun, 1st Nov – London Calling @ Paradisco Noord, Amsterdam, Netherland – ticket link

Fri, 6th Nov – Nouvelle Prague Festival, Prague, Czech Republic – ticket link

Sat, 7th Nov – The Castle, Manchester, UK – ticket link

Sun, 8th Nov – SWN Festival, Cardiff, UK – ticket link

Tues, 10th Nov – Huw Stephens Presents @ The Social (Free), London, UK – ticket link

Thurs, 12th Nov – Les Inrocks @ Casino De Paris, Paris, France – ticket link

Fri, 13th Nov – Autumn Falls Festival at Botanique w/ Braids, Brussels, Belgium – ticket link

Subscribe to our newsletter
Delivering curated content