(Credit: Futureheads)

The Futureheads announce limited edition double-vinyl package


The Futureheads’ self-titled debut album, a record that was at the epicentre of the mid-2000’s indie rock boom, is being handed a limited edition double-vinyl album release.

Alongside the 1LP album reissue, the limited double-vinyl edition was curated by the band and includes the original album plus a bonus disc of all of the album’s b-sides, available to order exclusively through Rhino.

Originally released in 2004, a year after their self-released EP ‘Nul Book Standard’, the first five of the tracks were produced by Andy Gill of Gang of Four with the rest of the album being produced by Paul Epworth – one of the first albums that Epworth produced. “They say that you have your whole life to write your first album, but to us, it doesn’t quite feel like a lifetime ago that we were fresh-faced musicians visiting four different London studios trying to capture (on tape!) the music we’d been making for four years,” the band said on reflection.

“The journey was a long but enjoyable one,” they added. “From playing our first gigs with broken and borrowed gear to learning the ins and outs of studios and production, we said yes to practically everything, took every opportunity and tried everything twice. ‘The Futureheads’ really is the chronicling of those first four years; the story of a band growing together and forming a bond that would endure, at the last count, for twenty years.”

They added: “It’s a record that we’ll always be indebted to, in a sense, as it set the band on a quite unexpected path. It’s great that 15 years later the vinyl has been repressed and will be back on the shelves.”

The special edition of the debut record re-release contains all of the B-sides from the singles taken from that first album. “B-sides are an odd concept, but we loved being relaxed in the studio and just trying stuff out,” the group explained. “We recorded these songs in First Avenue in Heaton, Newcastle with the illustrious Dave Curle (working with Dave in this studio became our ‘go-to’ over the next fifteen years for B-sides, external projects and then eventually parts of an album (The Chaos), and full albums (Rant and Powers).”


LP 1
Side One

‘Le Garage’
‘A to B’
‘Decent Days and Nights’
‘Danger of the Water’

Side Two

‘Carnival Kids’
‘The City Is Here for You to Use’
‘First Day’
‘He Knows’
‘Stupid and Shallow’
‘Trying Not to Think About Time’
‘Hounds of Love’
‘Man Ray’

LP 2
Side One

‘Spoilt for Choice’
‘ALMS’ (Accapella Version)
‘Remote Control’
‘Man Made’ (A Mistake)
‘Appreciate the Effort’
‘Hounds of Love’ (Mystery Jet’s Pirate Invasion)

Side Two

‘Boring the Children’
‘Help Us Out’
‘We Cannot Lose’
‘Hounds of Love’ (Phones’ Wolf at the Door Remix)