Adam Schlesinger, Fountains of Wayne co-founder, dies from coronavirus aged 52
(Credit: Wikimedia)

That Thing You Do! get the band back together in tribute to Adam Schlesinger

The band from the 1996 comedy film That Thing You Do! are getting back together for a very special performance in tribute to the late Adam Schlesinger who wrote the music for the film.

Schlesinger sadly passed away recently aged just 52 from coronavirus complications and the Fountains of Wayne leader was much more than just the man behind ‘Stacy’s Mom’, he was an acclaimed writer and musician in his own right also.

To remember Schlesinger, Tom Everett Scott (drummer Guy Patterson) Johnathon Schaech (singer Jimmy), Steve Zahn (guitarist Lenny) and Ethan Embry (bass player T.B. Player) aka The Wonders from the film, are set to reunite via Zoom 24 years on from when we last saw them for a COVID-19 benefit in aid of MusiCares.

Tom Everett Scott made the announcement on Twitter, posting: Calling all Oneders fans!! Join the band and special guests for a LIVE #ThatThingYouDo watch party in support of @MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund this Friday, April 17 at 7pmEsT/4pmPST on our YouTube channel.”

The Zoom conversation will begin at 11 pm GMT, 7 pm EST, 4 pm PST and fans will be able to get their questions sent over in advance social media to the castmates taking part in the stream. Subscribe to The Wonders’ YouTube channel, here.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Delivering curated content