Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit Tame Impala)

Tame Impala announce new album 'The Slow Rush'


Tame Impala have announced that their eagerly anticipated new album, The Slow Rush, will be released in 2020.

In what will be the long-awaited follow up to follow-up to 2015’s critically acclaimed record Currents, information about the new material has been kept quiet until the Australian band recently released a mysterious video via their website.

The video sees shots of recording equipment and Kevin Parker working in the studio and looking out to sea. The clip is a typically psyche-tinged affair and has got fans excited but it is not yet apparently clear if Tame Impala’s most recent tracks, ‘Patience‘ and ‘Borderline’, will appear on The Slow Rush.

When Parker was asked earlier in the year by Beats1 DJ Matt Wilkinson about a new record the artist replied, “I would very much hope so. I’d be very disappointed if we didn’t have something out by then.”

He added: “I mean, I love playing the songs live – I love playing ‘Currents’ songs, I love playing ‘Lonerism’ songs and everything – but I think I’m ready to play some other songs live. All the instinctual things are there.”