Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Asthmatic Kitty )


Sufjan Stevens announces new album 'The Ascension'


Sufjan Stevens has announced plans to release his brand new album The Ascension.

The record, which has been labelled as the follow-up to Carrie & Lowell, is made up of 15 new songs and will arrive with a brand new 16-page book of the singer-songwriters drawings.

Taking on all the duties solo, Stevens wrote, recorded and produced all the new material. Furthermore, the musician created and design the cover and album art which can be viewed below.

Stevens has announced his intentions to release the first taste of the album this Friday when he puts out his 12-minute lead single entitled ‘America’. The rest of the album will be shared through Asthmatic Kitty on September 25.

Check out the tracklist and art work, below.

Sufjan Stevens ‘The Ascension‘ Tracklisting:

01 Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
02 Run Away With Me
03 Video Game
04 Lamentations
05 Tell Me You Love Me
06 Die Happy
07 Ativan
08 Ursa Major
09 Landslide
10 Gilgamesh
11 Death Star
12 Goodbye To All That
13 Sugar
14 The Ascension
15 America