Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Asthmatic Kitty )


Sufjan Stevens releases 12-minute protest song ‘America’


Sufjan Stevens has released his brand new 12-minute protest song ‘America’.

The new song comes as part of his new album The Ascension. The record, which has been labelled as the follow-up to Carrie & Lowell, is made up of 15 new songs and will arrive with a brand new 16-page book of the singer-songwriters drawings.

Taking on all the duties solo, Stevens wrote, recorded and produced all the new material. Furthermore, the musician created and design the cover and album art which can be viewed below.

“I was dumbfounded by the song when I first wrote it,” Stevens said in a statement. “Because it felt vaguely mean-spirited and miles away from everything else on Carrie & Lowell. So I shelved it. But when I dug up the demo a few years later I was shocked by its prescience.

“I could no longer dismiss it as angry and glib. The song was clearly articulating something prophetic and true, even if I hadn’t been able to identify it at the time. That’s when I saw a clear path toward what I had to do next.”

Stream the song, below.

Sufjan Stevens ‘The Ascension‘ Tracklisting:

01 Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
02 Run Away With Me
03 Video Game
04 Lamentations
05 Tell Me You Love Me
06 Die Happy
07 Ativan
08 Ursa Major
09 Landslide
10 Gilgamesh
11 Death Star
12 Goodbye To All That
13 Sugar
14 The Ascension
15 America