(Credit: Rowan)


Rowan release new single 'Everybody Talks'

Rowan - 'Everybody Talks'

Irish indie-rockers Rowan have previewed their upcoming release Everybody Talks by releasing the EP’s title track.

Filled to the brim with echoing drums and twisty-turny guitar lines, ‘Everybody Talks’ is a bleary recounting of some questionable decisions that may have happened the night before. The drums kick into overdrive during the second chorus, with a furious flurry of sixteenth note high hat hits bringing a frantic energy as singer Dylan Howe continues to intone about the gossip that follows him around like a shadow.

In the face of releasing songs without proper touring support during the COVID-19 pandemic, band member Fionn Hennessy-Hayes contends that “We figured doing anything was better than radio silence… we just wanted to connect to people”.

Everybody Talks will be the band’s second EP following last year’s No One Is Safe Here. The band have also released the similarly punchy singles ‘I Had A Dream’, ‘Moonlight’, ‘Big Wave’, ‘Before’, and ‘Finish Line’ over the course of 2020. In that way, the band have effectively skirted radio silence and forged ahead valiantly.

Ignore the similarities to Neon Trees’ own bouncy and euphoric ‘Everybody Talks’. I’m sure it’s a coincidence. These don’t exactly seem like boys who would be listening to Neon Trees, much less ones who would steal melodic lines from them. Still, it is kind of a funny thought seeing these three scruffy Irish indie rock lads plotting to swipe a chorus from the Las Vegas pop-rockers.

Check out the video for ‘Everybody Talks’ down below. The Everybody Talks EP is set for a July 23rd release. You can also check out the tracklisting for Everybody Talks down below as well.

Everybody Talks Tracklisting:

  1. Torin
  2. Everybody Talks
  3. One of These Days
  4. Nothing’s Gonna Change
  5. Never Walk That Way
  6. I Don’t Wanna Talk