Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: X)


Punk icons X reveal their first album in 35 years with original line up


Los Angeles’ punk icons X reveal their first album in 35 years with the original line up.

The band, who originally formed in 1977, quickly established themselves as one of the best bands in the first wave of LA’s flourishing punk scene and, with their unique take on the genre, became leaders of a punk generation.

Featuring vocalist Exene Cervenka, vocalist/bassist John Doe, guitarist Billy Zoom, and drummer DJ Bonebrake, their debut 45 was released on the seminal Dangerhouse label in 1978, followed by seven studio albums released from 1980-1993. Now, the original foursome decided to make their new album ALPHABETLAND, available for fans to purchase and by adapting to this moment, X continues to embody the same spirit they did when they began in 1977.

“When your heart is broken you think every song is about that. These songs were written in the last 18 months and it blows my mind how timely they are,” explained John Doe. “We all want our family, friends & fans to hear our records as soon as it’s finished. This time we could do that. Thanks to Fat Possum and our audience.”

The band’s record label, Fat Possum, listened and agreed. Plans were quickly set in motion to release the new music via Bandcamp and DSPs and have said they will be releasing the album physically later in the year.

The quartet originally entered the studio in Nov 2018 when the band joined together to record fresh material for the first time since 1985’s Ain’t Love Grand. Five songs were recorded over the course of two days with producer Rob Schnapf. The first of these new songs is the recorded version of an older X song, ‘Delta 88 Nightmare’, which previously was only included as a bonus track on the 2001 reissue of Los Angeles in demo form—never as a fully recorded and mixed track.

The song was released as a 7″ with the flip side being the newly recorded ‘Cyrano de Berger’s Back’, one of the earliest songs John wrote for the band that became X. This past January 2020 the band re-entered the studio to finish recording the album, again with Rob Schnapf and seven more original tracks were laid down, the 11 songs appear on this album.

Soon after their collaboration with Fat Possum began, X remastered and reissued their first four classic albums: Los Angeles (1980), Wild Gift (1981), Under The Big Black Sun (1982) and More Fun In The New World (1983) earlier this year.

Stream ALPHABETLAND, below.