(Credit: Trevor Naud)


Protomartyr announce new album 'Ultimate Success Today’


Detroit rock band Protomartyr have marked their return with Ultimate Success Today, their fifth studio album.

News of the record, which will be released on 29th May through Domino, arrives with the band’s first single ‘Processed By The Boys’ which offers a glimpse into the direction Protomartyr have taken with their new material.

“The re-release of our first album had me thinking about the passage of time and its ultimate conclusion,” vocalist Joe Casey said of the new album in a press release. “Listening to No Passion All Technique again, I could hear myself hoping for an introduction and a long future, but also being cognizant that it could be ‘one and done’ for us. So, when it came time to write Ultimate Success Today, I was reminded of that first urgency and how it was an inverse of my current grapple with how terribly ill I’ve been feeling lately. Was that sick feeling colouring how I felt about the state of the world or was it the other way around?”

Casey added: “This panic was freeing in a way. It allowed me to see our fifth album as a possible valediction of some confusingly loud five-act play. In the same light I see it as an interesting mile marker of our first decade of being a band – a crest of the hill along a long highway. Although just to cover my bases, I made sure to get my last words in while I still had the breath to say them.”

Stream the new single above and view the tracklisting and album artwork, below.

Ultimate Success Today Tracklisting:

01 – ‘Day Without End’
02 – ‘Processed By The Boys’
03 – ‘I Am You Now’
04 – ‘The Aphorist’
05 – ‘June 21’
06 – ‘Michigan Hammers’
07 – ‘Tranquilizer’
08 – ‘Modern Business Hymns’
09 – ‘Bridge & Crown’
10 – ‘Worm In Heaven’