Subscribe to our newsletter


Priests share the raw brilliance of ‘Early Recordings’ for Record Store Day


Following the February release of their debut album, Nothing Feels Natural, Priests shared ‘Early Recordings’ through Tough Love as part of this year’s Record Store Day.

Pressed on to opaque white vinyl and limited to 1000 copies, Priests’ ‘Early Recordings’ combines the band’s first two cassette-only tape releases, originally recorded in 2011 and 2013. The small run cassette releases were originally intended to be for purchase only at the band’s live shows. “We didn’t want everybody to hear it,” said drummer Daniele Daniele.

“We were still learning our instruments, so these tapes were not intended to impress the world, just document where we were for our own sake.” Daniele met vocalist Katie Alice Greer the same week she arrived in Washington, DC to complete a fellowship at Georgetown University, and the two decided to start a band. Guitarist GL Jaguar joined soon after, and bassist Taylor Mulitz completed the lineup the following year.

So, taken from the beginning of their existence, click this link to hear ‘Early Recordings’ in full. 

In the meantime, why not revisit a bit of Nothing Feels Natural:

Early Recordings Track listing:
1. Diet Coke
2. Talking
3. The World
4. Cobra
5. Leave Me Alone
6. Say No
7. Lana
8. USA (Incantations)
9. Lillian Hellman
10. Twelve
11. Watch You (Alternate Mix)