Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Ian Witchell)


Peter Kember announces the first album as Sonic Boom in 30 years


Peter Kember, the shoegaze pioneer and co-founder of Spacemen 3, has announced his first album as Sonic Boom in more than three decades.

Kember, who has worked with the likes of Panda Bear, MGMT and Beach House, in recent years, hasn’t released a solo Sonic Boom album since 1989 record Spectrum.

Now though, Sonic Boom is back and the release of his new album, All Things Being Equal will be out on June 5 through Carpark Records. To coincide with the news of the album, Kember has shared the Nuno Jardim-directed video for the album’s lead single ‘Just Imagine’.

“I learn from everyone I work with, and I wanted to bring what I learnt into this record,” he said in a statment. “Everybody thinks about and listens to music in different ways.”

Stream the new single, below.

[MORE] – Interview: In conversation with Pete Kember of Spacemen 3, Spectrum and Sonic Boom

All Things Being Equal Tracklisting:

01 Just Imagine
02 Just a Little Piece of Me
03 Things Like This (A Little Bit Deeper)
04 Spinning Coins and Wishing on Clovers
05 My Echo, My Shadow and Me
06 On a Summer’s Day
07 The Way That You Live
08 Tawkin Tekno
09 I Can See Light Bend
10 I Feel a Change Coming On