Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Camille Vivier


Perfume Genius share 'Desscribe' ahead of new album 'Set My Heart on Fire Immediately'

Perfume Genius has announced his fifth studio album Set My Heart on Fire Immediately and the LP’s first brooding new track, ‘Describe’. It’s our Track of the Day

It’s the first new music since the release of ‘Pop Song’ in 2019 and is a precursor to the new record which lands on May 15th via Matador Records.

‘Describe’ is a deeply rich and textured new release and shows Mike Hadreas is up to the same tricks that saw 2017’s No Shape find such critical acclaim. The ability to create stylistically lush enterprises that maneuver past the complexities of life, or in the case of ‘Describe’, straight through them.

About the new track, Hadreas notes, “it started as a really somber ballad. It was very minimal and very slow. And then it turned into this beast of a song. I started writing about when you are in such a dark place that you don’t even remember what goodness is or what anything feels like. And so, the idea was having someone describe that to you, because you forgot or can’t get to it.”

In reflection of the self-directed video, Hadreas says it shows “an end of the world where there are no boundaries, there are no edges, no rules, or the rules are completely new with how you interact with each other and the space around you.” 

The new album was recorded in LA with collaborator Alan Wyffels, as well as guest spots from artists including Jim Keltner, Pino Palladino, Matt Chamberlin, and Rob Moose. “I wanted to feel more open, more free and spiritually wild, and I’m in a place now where those feelings are very close—but it can border on being unhinged,” Hadreas said of the album.

“I wrote these songs as a way to be more patient, more considered—to pull at all these chaotic threads hovering around me and weave them in to something warm, thoughtful and comforting.”

Set My Heart on Fire Immediately tracklisting

  1. Whole Life
  2. Describe
  3. Without You
  4. Jason
  5. Leave
  6. On the Floor
  7. Your Body Changes Everything
  8. Moonbend
  9. Just a Touch
  10. Nothing At All
  11. One More Try
  12. Some Dream
  13. Borrowed Light