(Credit: Twitter / ABC)


Oscars 2020: '1917' wins Best Cinematography at 92nd Academy Awards


Sam Mendes film, 1917, has claimed the award for Best Cinematography at 92nd Academy Awards.

Roger Deakins was the cinematographer for the film, reuniting with Mendes for is now their fourth collaboration together. Deakins has been heavily praised for his work with editor Lee Smith and the use of extremely long takes which gives the impression of one continuous shot.

The film, which was directed, co-written and produced by Mendes, edged out competition from the likes Martin Scorsese film The Irishman, Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, South Korean film Parasite and more.

Starring the likes of George MacKay Dean-Charles Chapman, Mark Strong, Andrew Scott, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch and more, 1971 received ten nominations at the 92nd Academy Awards and has been heavily praised for its direction, cinematography, editing and realism.

The official film synopsis reads: “During World War I, two British soldiers—Lance Cpl. Schofield and Lance Cpl. Blake—receive seemingly impossible orders. In a race against time, they must cross over into enemy territory to deliver a message that could potentially save 1,600 of their fellow comrades—including Blake’s own brother.”

See Deakins’ speech below.