Subscribe to our newsletter

Oscars 2019: The Academy announces shortlist for ‘Best Foreign Language Film'

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has now announced the nine foreign films that will be in contention for victory at the 2019 Oscars.

The nine chosen films have been narrowed down from the original list which comprised of 87 countries who were all vying for the prize. That list of countries also included first-time entrants Malawi and Niger.

Los Angeles-based Academy members from all branches screened the original submissions in the category between mid-October and December 10. The group’s top six choices, augmented by three additional selections voted by the Academy’s Foreign Language Film Award Executive Committee, constitute the shortlist.

Roma, the film everybody is talking about, is predictably the frontrunner. Alfonso Cuarón’s beautifully heartbreaking picture will be competing against the likes of Birds of Passage from Columbia, Ayka from Kazakhstan and many more.

The films, listed in alphabetical order by country, are:

Colombia, “Birds of Passage”
Denmark, “The Guilty”
Germany, “Never Look Away”
Japan, “Shoplifters”
Kazakhstan, “Ayka”
Lebanon, “Capernaum”
Mexico, “Roma”
Poland, “Cold War”
South Korea, “Burning”