Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Subpop)

Nirvana have announced a reissue of their legendary 'MTV Unplugged in New York' vinyl


A very special moment for Nirvana fans has arrived as the band have announced they will be reissuing vinyl of their legendary ‘MTV Unplugged in New York’ session to mark the 25th anniversary of its release.

Many deem the live album one of the best of its kind and it’s becoming much harder to disagree. The album is a thing of beauty, far-flung from the tonal noise of the band’s distortion-laden output, this LP is a pure tug at the heartstrings, least of all because of Cobain’s loss.

The double LP release will feature the entirety of the show as well as five rehearsal performances, which, up until now, had only been available as part of a DVD release. The vinyl will go another step further to commemorate the release with an exclusive gatefold jacket with silver foiled anniversary detail on the front and back.

Below is the full tracklisting and you can pre-order an exclusive limited-edition coloured vinyl from Nirvana’s official website here.

LP 1 – Side A

  1. About A Girl
  2. Come As You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam
  4. The Man Who Sold The World

LP 1 – Side B

  1. Pennyroyal Tea
  2. Dumb
  3. Polly
  4. On A Plain
  5. Something In The Way

LP 2 – Side C

  1. Plateau
  2. Oh Me
  3. Lake of Fire
  4. All Apologies
  5. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

LP 2 – Side D

  1. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
  2. Polly (Rehearsal)
  3. Plateau (Rehearsal)
  4. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
  5. The Man Who Sold The World (Rehearsal)