Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Graham Berry)


After 45 years, Neil Young finally releases long-lost album 'Homegrown'


Neil Young has finally released his long-lost album Homegrown which is available to stream now through all major streaming services.

The 12-track record, which arrived into the world today through Reprise Records, was first recorded 45 years ago. Young describes the album as being “the unheard bridge between Harvest and Comes A Time” and explains that some of the tracks from the project would have been released on other records. However, the album has never been heard in its entirety.

‘Love Is A Rose,’ ‘Homegrown,’ ‘White Line,’ ‘Little Wing’ and ‘Star Of Bethlehem’ — subsequently would all go on to feature on future Young records but seven of the tracks would remain on the shelf.

Young confirmed the release in a lengthy statement, writing: “I apologise. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest. It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it. I wanted to move on. So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind… but I should have shared it. It’s actually beautiful. That’s why I made it in the first place.

“Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away. Recorded in analogue in 1974 and early 1975 from the original master tapes and restored with love and care by John Hanlon.

“Levon Helm is drumming on some tracks, Karl T Himmel on others, Emmylou Harris singing on one, Homegrown contains a narration, several acoustic solo songs never even published or heard until this release and some great songs played with a great band of my friends, including Ben Keith — steel and slide — Tim Drummond — bass and Stan Szelest — piano. Anyway, it’s coming your way in 2020, the first release from our archive in the new decade. Come with us into 2020 as we bring the past.”

Stream the album, below.

Neil Young Homegrown Tracklist:

01. Separate Ways
02. Try
03. Mexico
04. Love Is A Rose
05. Homegrown
06. Florida
07. Kansas
08. We Don’t Smoke It No More
09. White Line
10. Vacancy
11. Little Wing
12. Star of Bethlehem