(Credit: Modest Mouse)


Modest Mouse announce new album 'The Golden Casket'


Modest Mouse have announced the release of their new studio album The Golden Casket and dropped the LP’s first single, ‘We Are Between’.

The band previously teased the release with an Instagram post, which consists of a mirror-imaged rainbow, one side with color and the other in various shades of grey, is simply captioned “Tomorrow.” The new album will be the band’s seventh overall and first since 2015’s Strangers to Ourselves.

Modest Mouse have pretty much lived the dream as far as American alternative rock bands go. They rode the very last wave of decent album sales and strong promotion in the mid-2000s before the music industry virtually collapsed in a befuddled heap of confusion as digital media and streaming services took over. With critical appreciation up the wazoo and a cultishly devoted fanbase, the band were able to squeeze out a platinum album in 2004, Good News For People Who Love Bad News, and land a decent-sized hit single with ‘Float On’, two propositions that would be ludicrous for an indie band to accomplish nowadays.

In the time since, the band saw a remarkable turn over of personnel, including Johnny Marr joining the ranks and then jumping ship to The Cribs during his “I just want to be in a band again” phase. Today, only singer/bandleader Isaac Brock and drummer Jeremiah Green remain from the original line-up.

Back in 2019, the band seemed to imply they were on the verge of releasing a new full length when they dropped a number of new songs and toured with The Black Keys. None of those tracks are set to appear on The Golden Casket, however, so it’s unclear if there was previously material that was scrapped or if those songs were simple one-offs.

Check out the tease from the band’s Instagram page down below.