Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: METZ)


METZ share two new songs with 'Acid' and 'Slow Decay'


METZ, the brilliant Canadian punk rock band, have returned with two new songs in the shape of ‘Acid’ and ‘Slow Decay’.

The band, famously made up of guitarist and vocalist Alex Edkins, bassist Chris Slorach and drummer Hayden Menzies, are making the most of Bandcamp’s initiative to waive all artist fees with the release of their new material.

“‘Acid’ is a song about having a fresh perspective, a newly widened outlook on the world and one’s life,” the band said in a statement. “Being shaken awake from a malaise and realising there is no time for petty bullshit. Love what you love, love who you love! Embrace it and don’t wait.”

Both songs mark a collaboration with Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago who acted as producer. To complete the team, Graham Walsh contributed with some production and Alex Edkins was on mixing duty.

The new material arrives as the first since METZ released their rarities collection, entitled Automat, last year. Prior to that, the band are still working on the follow-up to 2017 full-length studio album Strange Peace.

Stream both songs, below.