Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Jason Persse)

Mercury Prize 2018: King Krule, Arctic Monkeys, Wolf Alice and more


The Mercury Prize has announced nominees for the 2018 award.

The annual prize will be awarded to the best British album of the past year, as chosen by a panel of British music critics and industry figures. This year the likes of King Krule, Arctic Monkeys, Nadine Shah, Lily Allen, Noel Gallagher, Florence + the Machine, and more have all been nominated.

The ceremony takes place at London’s Eventim Apollo on September 20. Previous winners include last year’s triumph Sampha, James Blake, PJ Harvey, Dizzee Rascal, Pulp, Portishead, and Antony and the Johnsons.

Here’s the full list:

Hyundai Mercury Prize 2018 nominees:
Lily Allen – No Shame
Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel and Casino
Everything Everything – A Fever Dream
Everything Is Recorded – Everything Is Recorded
Florence + the Machine – High as Hope
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built the Moon?
King Krule – The Ooz
Novelist – Novelist Guy
Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination
Jorja Smith – Lost and Found
Sons of Kemet – Your Queen Is a Reptile
Wolf Alice – Visions of a Life