Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Heavenly)


Mark Lanegan announces new solo album 'Straight Songs Of Sorrow'

Mark Lanegan has announced the release of his next solo album, Straight Songs Of Sorrow, which will arrive through Heavenly Recordings on May 8th.

The record, the follow up to 2019 effort Somebody’s Knocking, will also feature collaborations with the likes of Greg Dulli, Warren Ellis, John Paul Jones, Ed Harcourt, and more.

Having spent time reflecting on his life while writing his memoir Sing Backwards And Weep—which will be published by White Rabbit on April 3rd— Lanegan’s new material offers a personal glimpse into the more emotional moments of his life.

“Writing the book, I didn’t get catharsis. All I got was a Pandora’s box full of pain and misery,” Lanegan said. “I went way in, and remembered shit I’d put away 20 years ago. But I started writing these songs the minute I was done, and I realised there was a depth of emotion because they were all linked to memories from this book.

“It was a relief to suddenly go back to music. Then I realised that was the gift of the book: these songs. I’m really proud of this record.” 

To coincide with the album news, Lanegan has released the record’s lead single ‘Skeleton Key’, the tracklist and a string of UK tour dates which can all be found below.

Straight Songs of Sorrow Tracklist:

1. I Wouldn’t Want To Say
2. Apples From A Tree
3. This Game Of Love
4. Ketamine
5. Bleed All Over
6. Churchbells, Ghosts
7. Internal Hourglass Discussion
8. Stockholm City Blues
9. Skeleton Key
10. Daylight In The Nocturnal House
11. Ballad of the Dying Rover
12. Hanging On (For DRC)
13. At Zero Below
14. Eden Lost And Found

Mark Lanegan Upcoming Tour Dates:

May 12 2020 – Brighton, Concorde 2
May 13 2020 – Cardiff, Tramshed
May 14 2020 – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
May 15 2020 – Glasgow, Garage
May 16 2020 – Newcastle, Riverside
May 17 2020 – Liverpool, Invisible Wind Factory
May 18 2020 – Norwich, Waterfront
May 19 2020 – Oxford, O2 Academy Oxford