Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Mac DeMarco)


Mac DeMarco shares new ‘Here Comes the Cowboy’ demos album

Mac DeMarco has released a new album which collects a series of early demo versions of songs taken from his most recent album, Here Comes the Cowboy.

Here Comes the Cowboy, released in May 2019, arrived as the fourth full-length studio album by singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist DeMarco and, for the first time ever, shared through Mac’s Record Label.

The record, which also signified a change in approach by DeMarco, divided his loyal fanbase who were torn by the musician’s drive to alter his sound but still yearned for the upbeat ‘jizz jazz’ former style. That said, the record featured a number of now fan favourite songs such as ‘Here Comes the Cowboy’, ‘Nobody’. ‘On the Square’ and more.

Now, as the Canadian musician revisits his past work, DeMarco has shared an album which exhibits new, original demo versions for each of the album’s 14 tracks. What’s more, the new release also includes the bonus number ‘The Cattleman’s Prayer’.

Shared again through Mac’s Record Label, his new outfit is also preparing the release a separate project entitled Other Here Comes the Cowboy Demos as part of a Record Store Day exclusive.

For now though, stream the recordings, below.