Subscribe to our newsletter

Loyle Carner has announced a new album 'Not Waving But Drowning'


One of our favourite MCs Loyle Carner has announced a new album will be out this spring as Not Waving But Drowning will arrive April 19th via AMF Records. The follow-up to his brilliant LP Yesterday’s Gone is highly anticipated.

With single ‘Ottolenghi’ written in reference to the famous Chef Yotam Ottolenghi (Loyle being an avid chef himself) already released and streamed over 5 million times, it’s safe to say that this album is going to be another triumph.

There’s another track on the album which references a chef, the late ‘Carluccio’, who influenced so many young Brits with his countless TV programmes. The other themes of the album range from the loss of his step-father, black consciousness and much more.

The real selling-point of previous effort Yesterday’s Gone was the realism Carner added to every track and it continues on this album too. The title of his new album Not Waving, But Drowning comes from a poem by his grandfather, which in turn came from a Stevie Smith poem. What you hear on the track ‘Krispy’ is real. He is pouring his heart out to his best friend Rebel Kleff after their relationship went downhill, he invites him on the track to say his piece but he doesn’t turn up, so we get a flugel solo instead.

We can’t wait to hear this album and if you like your “hip-hop to have soul and your soul to have spirit” then this album should be high on your ‘must-buy’ list.

Take a listen to ‘Ottolenghi’ below.

Not Waving, But Drowning Tracklist

  1. Dear Jean
  2. Angel feat. Tom Misch
  3. Ice Water
  4. Ottolenghi feat. Jordan Rakei
  5. You Don’t Know feat. Rebel Kleff & Kiko Bun
  6. Still
  7. It’s Coming Home?
  8. Desoleil (Brilliant Corners) feat. Sampha
  9. Loose Ends feat. Jorja Smith
  10. Not Waving But Drowning
  11. Krispy
  12. Sail Away (Freestyle)
  13. Looking Back
  14. Carluccio
  15. Dear Ben feat Jean Coyle Larner