Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Lianne La Havas)


Lianne La Havas shares stunning cover of Radiohead’s ‘Weird Fishes’


Lianne La Havas has shared a stunning cover of Radiohead‘s ‘Weird Fishes’.

This is the fourth track that La Havas has shared for her long-awaited third record which is set to arrive on July 17th and follows on from previous releases ‘Bittersweet’, ‘Paper Thin’ and more recently ‘Can’t Fight’.

This isn’t the first time that La Havas has released a cover on a selected album, her 2012 debut record Is Your Love Big Enough? famously featured a glorious rendition of ‘Elusive’ by Scott Matthews and she also shared her version of Dionne Warwick’s ‘Say A Little Prayer’ as a non-album single in 2016.

Talking about her cover of Radiohead’s In Rainbows track, the London based artist said: “I had the most wonderful, nourishing experience recording [‘Weird Fishes’]”

She added: “That’s where I decided: the rest of the album needs to be like this. It’s got to be my band, and I’ve got to do it in London, whenever people have time.”

La Havas spoke to Zane Lowe for his Beats1 show about the upcoming record and revealed that is has taken her half a decade to be ready to release the follow up to 2015’s Blood because of her “wanting to make a complete piece of work that meant something that had a story just took a little bit of time,” she said. “It’s not planned, I just wanted it to be right, and then I finally felt it was ready.”

Listen to ‘Weird Fishes’ and check out the tracklisting for her upcoming self-titled album, below.

  1. ‘Bittersweet’
  2. ‘Read My Mind’
  3. ‘Green Papaya’
  4. ‘Can’t Fight’
  5. ‘Paper Thin’
  6. ‘Weird Fishes’
  7. ‘Please Don’t Make Me Cry’
  8. ‘Seven Times’
  9. ‘Courage’
  10. ‘Sour Flower’