Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Tamsin Isaacs

Khruangbin announce new album with lead single ‘Time (You and I)’


The funk trio Khruangbin have dropped their latest song ‘Time (You and I)’ and it acts as the lead single from their upcoming new album Mordechai.

The new single comes with alongside a music video which features comedian Stpehen K. Amos and Lunda Anele-Skosana and hints that the band’s fourth album may be their best yet.

The album is out via Dead Oceans on June 26th and sees the predominantly funk instrumental band explore lyrics and vocals more intently than ever before. Judging by ‘Time (You and I)’ it could well be the making of them as the Texan trio ascend once more.

Though the group did release Texas Sun alongside soul-singer Leon Bridges in February but the album is the first proper release under their own name since 2018’s Con Todo El Mundo.

While the group are exploring lyrics more thoroughly, the band’s globally influenced funk instrumentals are still hogging the spotlight. As they reference music from Pakistan, West Africa and Korea, the trio will also be “incorporating strains of Indian chanting boxes and Congolese syncopated guitar”.

Listen to Khruangbin’s latest single ‘Time (You and I)’ as they announce their new album Mordechai.

The tracklist of Khruangbin’s Mordechai is:

  1. ‘First Class’
  2. ‘Time (You and I)’
  3. ‘Connaissais de Face’
  4. ‘Father Bird, Mother Bird’
  5. ‘If There is No Question’
  6. ‘Pelota’
  7. ‘One to Remember’
  8. ‘Dearest Alfred’
  9. ‘So We Won’t Forget’
  10. ‘Shida’