Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Johnny Eastlund)


Kevin Morby announces new album with lead single 'Campfire'


After a period of subtle hints, Kevin Morby has announced his intention to release his brand new album Sundowner.

The new record, which arrives as Morby’s follow-up project from last year’s effort Oh My God, has been inspired by his relationship with fellow musician Katie Crutchfield after the pair began referring to themselves as ‘sundownders’ in reference to the sense of melancholy they both feel at sunset.

“I wrote the entire album wearing headphones, hunched over the 424, letting my voice and guitar pass through the machine, getting lost in the warmth of the tape as if another version of myself was living on the inside, singing back at me,” Morby said of his writing approach.

“I was mesmerised by the magic of the four-track not only as a recording device, but also an instrument, and considered it my songwriting partner throughout the whole process.”

Speaking about the album on a whole, Morby added: “It is a depiction of isolation. Of the past. Of an uncertain future. Of provisions. Of an omen. Of a dead deer. Of an icon. Of a Los Angeles themed hotel in rural Kansas. Of billowing campfires, a mermaid and a highway lined in rabbit fur.

“It is a depiction of the nervous feeling that comes with the sky’s proud announcement that another day will be soon coming to a close as the pink light recedes and the street lamps and house lights suddenly click on.”

Stream the new single and view the tracklisting, below.

Kevin Morby Sundowner Tracklist:

  1. Valley
  2. Brother, Sister
  3. Sundowner
  4. Campfire
  5. Wander
  6. Don’t Underestimate Midwest American Sun
  7. A Night At The Little Los Angeles
  8. Jamie
  9. Velvet Highway
  10. Provisions