Subscribe to our newsletter

Kevin Morby announces new album 'Oh My God'


Kevin Morby has announced his new album Oh My God, out April 26th via the record label Dead Oceans.

Yesterday, Far Out reported the news that Morby was teasing new material in the shape of a mysterious video entitled ‘kmomg2019’. Now though, Morby has finally announced the official follow-up to his 2017 album City Music.

“Religion is around all of us,” Morby says in a press release. “It’s a universal language and there is profound beauty in it. I’ve found it a useful tool within songwriting, as it’s something everyone can relate to on some level. There are religious themes or imagery in a lot of what I’ve done, so I wanted to get all of that out and speak only that language for a whole record. It’s not a born-again thing; it’s more that ‘oh my god’ is such a profound statement we all use multiple times a day and means so many different things. It’s not about an actual god but a perceived one, and it’s an outsider’s view of the human experience in terms of religion.”

“This one feels full circle, my most realised record yet,” he added. “It’s a cohesive piece; all the songs fit under the umbrella of this religious theme. I was able to write and record the album I wanted to make. It’s one of those marks of : this is why I slept on floors for seven years. I’ve now gotten the keys to my own little kingdom, and I’m devoting so much of my life to music that I just want to keep it interesting. At the end of the day, the only thing I don’t want is to be bored. If someone wants to get in my face about writing a non-religious religious record? Thank god. That’s all I gotta say.”

To coincide with the news, Morby has shared the record’s lead single ‘Halo’.

Here it is:

Oh My God Tracklisting

  1. Oh My God
  2. No Halo
  3. Nothing Sacred / All Things Wild
  4. OMG Rock n Roll
  5. Seven Devils
  6. Hail Mary
  7. Piss River
  8. Savannah
  9. Storm (Beneath The Weather)
  10. Congratulations
  11. I Want To Be Clean
  12. Sing A Glad Song
  13. Ballad Of Faye
  14. O Behold