Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Kevin Cummins)


Joy Division announces special 40th-anniversary vinyl reissue series


Joy Division will be re-releasing a 40th-anniversary edition of sophomore album Closer, which is due to arrive on 17th July 2020.

The release follows last year’s reissue of the groundbreaking debut album Unknown
, and will be pressed on crystal clear vinyl.

In addition to the LP release, non-album singles ‘Transmission,’ ‘Atmosphere’ and ‘Love Will Tear Us
Apart’ will be reissued on the same day with 2020 remastered audio.

Since the demise of Factory records, these singles have never been repressed or reissued before and are cut on 180g vinyl, featuring the original artwork on heavyweight board. ‘Transmission’ will feature an embossed sleeve.

The release comes shortly after 18th May 2020, a date which marks the 40th anniversary of Ian Curtis’ passing.

Below, see the visuals and full tracklisting.

Joy Division reissue tracklisting:

Transmission 12”
A: ‘Transmission’
B: ‘Novelty’
Love Will Tear Us Apart 12”
A: ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’
B: ‘These Days’
Atmosphere 12”
A: ‘Atmosphere’
B: ‘She’s Lost Control’
Closer 12”
Side A
‘Atrocity Exhibition’
‘A Means To An End’
Side B
‘Heart And Soul’
‘Twenty Four Hours’
‘The Eternal’