Credit: YouTube


Johnny Cash and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra album announced


It has been announced that 12 Johnny Cash recordings have been reworked by the famous Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for a special new album which is set to be released via Columbia Records on November 13th.

Producers Don Reedman and Nick Patrick consulted with John Carter Cash, who serves as Executive Producer on the record, which features a career-spanning selection of 12 Johnny Cash master recordings centring the album. Tracks on the record include Cash classics such as ‘Man In Black’ and ‘Ring Of Fire’ as well as the stunning collaboration with Bob Dylan on the timeless ‘Girl From The North Country’.

“I believe we have captured the emotion, sensitivity and genuine honesty of Johnny Cash through his storytelling and his touching and captivating vocal performances,” says Don Reedman in his notes for Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. “Making this album with my co-producer Nick Patrick has been a true labour of love, and I believe we have captured the complete spirit and musical message that makes Johnny Cash such a heart-touching and loved artist, whom we are so honoured to serve in our way,” he added.

Nick Patrick adds, “All these things make up an extraordinary artist. An artist who told the truth, no matter what the consequences. An artist who spoke for the man in the street, who spoke for those with no voice.  An artist whose faith spoke through his music. Making this album has been a life affirming experience, one I will never forget. We thank from the bottom of our hearts the Cash Family for entrusting us with it.”

John Carter Cash also reminisced in the liner notes for the record about his father introducing him into the world of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. “I was around ten years old and he and I went to see three films from the James Bond saga at a festival in New York,” Cash wrote. “When the theme for Goldfinger began, he leaned over to me. ‘That’s the finest orchestra in the world, son, he said. ‘That’s the Royal Philharmonic'”.

Check out ‘Ring Of Fire’ reimagined and check out the tracklist, below.

Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra:

  1. ‘Man In Black’
  2. ‘Galway Bay’
  3. ‘Girl From The North Country’ (Bob Dylan with Johnny Cash)
  4. ‘I Came To Believe’
  5. ‘A Thing Called Love’
  6. ‘The Loving Gift’ (with June Carter Cash)
  7. ‘I Walk The Line’
  8. ‘Farther Along’ (featuring Duane Eddy)
  9. ‘Flesh and Blood’
  10. ‘The Gambler’
  11. ‘Ring Of Fire’
  12. ‘Highwayman’ (The Highwaymen: Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash)