Subscribe to our newsletter

FILE PHOTO: Motion Picture Academy President John Bailey speaks at the Foreign Language Film nominees cocktail reception in Beverly Hills, California, U.S., March 2, 2018. REUTERS/David McNew/File Photo (Newscom TagID: rtrlnine735067.jpg) [Photo via Newscom]

John Bailey re-elected as the Academy President

John Bailey has been re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Bailey is beginning his second term as president and his fifteenth year as a governor representing the Cinematographers Branch. Burwell, Gianopulos, Rubin and Utley were re-elected to their posts. Ganis, who returned to the board this year, served as Academy President from 2005-2009. This will be the first officer stint for Karaszewski.

Bailey is the first cinematographer to hold the position of Academy President. His credits include ‘Ordinary People’, ‘American Gigolo’, ‘The Big Chill’, ‘Groundhog Day’, ‘As Good as It Gets’, ‘The Anniversary Party’, ‘The Way Way Back’ and ‘A Walk in the Woods’.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a global community of more than 8,000 of the most accomplished artists, filmmakers and executives working in film.

[MORE] – First look at Margot Robbie as Sharon Tate in new Quentin Tarantino film ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’