Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Julio Enriquez)


Jamie XX links up with Headie One and Fred again.. on 'Smoke'


Jamie XX has collaborated with Headie One and Fred again.. on new track ‘Smoke’ which features on the duo’s collaborative mixtape GANG.

Jamie XX isn’t the only name to feature on the duo’s joint mixtape with FKA Twigs and Sampha also making an appearance on the eight-track release as well as a sample from slowthai on interlude ‘Tyron’.

It’s five years since The XX man released his last solo album In Colour and three years since the band’s last LP I See You so this venture with Headie One and Fred again.. reminds us exactly what we’ve been missing out on from the acclaimed producer over the last few years.

Tottenham native Headie One had this to say on the new mixtape: “GANG is a shared love of music from two people with different backgrounds. The title represents loyalty and friendship, these things are important to me and Fred and I quickly developed this whilst recording the project over the past few months.

“We feel we really create something special when we’re together.”

Listen to ‘Smoke’ by the trio below.

The full tracklisting for the eight-track mixtape in full, below.

  1. Told
  2. GANG
  3. Judge Me (Interlude) featuring FKA Twigs
  4. Charades
  5. Smoke featuring Jamie XX
  6. Tyron (Interlude)
  7. Know Me
  8. SOLDIERS featuring Sampha