Subscribe to our newsletter

Insecure Men share 'Subaru Nights' and sign to Fat Possum Records

Insecure Men announce debut album

Insecure Men, the band led by former Fat White Family member Saul Adamczewski and his schoolmate and Childhood main-man, Ben Romans-Hopcraft, have announced details of the release of their self-titled debut album.

The band, who are building a cult following having performed a string of shows in London, have also unveiled the video to Teenage Toy which is directed by renowned independent production team Sharp Payne.

The album was recorded onto an ancient Tascam at Sean Lennon’s studio in upstate New York while Saul was working on the Moonlandingz album. It was subsequently produced by Sean and mixed by Marta Salogni.

Taking inspiration from the exotica of Arthur Lyman, the early electronic pop of Perrey and Kingsley, the supreme smoothness of The Carpenters, the songwriting chops of Harry Nilsson and the hypnagogic uncanniness conjured up by David Lynch it’s outwardly a charming exercise in timeless pop, exotica and easy listening however, there lurks a darker heart beneath the surface. As Saul says it’s “pretty music with a dark underbelly to it”.

On top of album news, the band have announced a U.K headline tour in March, including a show at the Scala in London. The full list of dates is as follows:

08 – London, Scala
09 – Bristol, Thekla
10 – Nottingham, Bodega
11 – Glasgow, Broadcast
13 – Newcastle, Think Tank
14 – Manchester, The Soup Kitchen
15 – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
16 – Brighton, Patterns

Released on Friday 23rd February 2018 on Fat Possum, the track listing of the 11-track album is as follows:

1. Subaru Nights
2. Teenage Toy
3. All Women Love Me
4. Mekong Glitter
5. Heathrow
6. I Don’t Wanna Dance (With My Baby)
7. The Saddest Man In Penge
8. Ulster
9. Cliff Has Left The Building
10. Whitney Houston And I
11. Buried In The Bleak