Subscribe to our newsletter


Godspeed You! Black Emperor to release new album


Godspeed You! Black Emperor are set to release their third studio album since reuniting in 2010.

The new record, entitled Luciferian Towers, follows ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, work that claimed the Polaris Prize, and 2015’s Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress.

According to the press release from Constellation Records, the album was made “in the midst of communal mess, raising dogs and children. Eyes up and filled with dreadful joy – we aimed for wrong notes that explode, a quiet muttering amplified heavenward. We recorded it all in a burning motorboat.”

The band also added a list of grand demands to the presser, they are:

+ an end to foreign invasion
+ an end to borders
+ the total dismantling of the prison-industrial complex
+ healthcare, housing, food and water acknowledged as an inalienable human right
+ the expert fuckers who broke this world never get to speak again

Not only that, the band attached the perfect description of the new tracks on the record: