Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Alamy)


Forgotten Johnny Cash live album from 1968 set to be released


A previously forgotten and unreleased live album from Johnny Cash is getting its first release amid huge excitement from the Man in Black’s fans. The iconic show was captured by Owsley Stanley and will now be released in full.

Though always sounding impeccable in the studio, Johnny Cash always felt most at home with an audience in front of him. Given the glaring eyes of his fans, Cash always kicked things up a notch. It meant that he was often the subject of live album releases. However, it would appear that one potential live LP had been forgotten… until now.

Recorded at the Carousel Ballroom in San Francisco on April 24, 1968, the record is a perfect reminder of Cash’s bristling talent. Performing a year after the summer of love at the epicentre of the counterculture movement may not have been the brightest move for any regular country singer — but this was Johnny Cash.

As a known supporter of the causes of many hippies, Cash and his then-new wife, June Carter, were welcomed into the city with open arms, even managing to pry Owsley Stanley from Haight-Ashbury to record the show.

Titled Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash At The Carousel Ballroom, April 24 1968 the album will be released on September 24 via the Owsley Stanley Foundation’s Bear’s Sonic Journals series.

The new release will arrive digitally as well as a CD edition and a double LP release. They will come equipped with essays from Johnny Cash and June Carter’s son John as well as Owsley Stanley’s son Starfinder and the Grateful Dead’s Bob Weir. There is also new artwork from Susan Archie and a reproduction of the original Carousel Ballroom poster.

The new album will boast a serious run of tracks from Cash’s canon including the first release from the record ‘Going to Memphis’, which you can hear below.

Tracklisting for Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash At The Carousel Ballroom, April 24 1968:

  1. Cocaine Blues
  2. Long Black Veil
  3. Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
  4. Going to Memphis
  5. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  6. Rock Island Line
  7. Guess Things Happen That Way
  8. One Too Many Mornings
  9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  10. Give My Love to Rose
  11. Green, Green Grass of Home
  12. Old Apache Squaw
  13. Lorena
  14. Forty Shades of Green
  15. Bad News
  16. Jackson
  17. Tall Lover Man
  18. June’s Song Introduction
  19. Wildwood Flower
  20. Foggy Mountain Top
  21. This Land Is Your Land
  22. Wabash Cannonball
  23. Worried Man Blues
  24. Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
  25. Ring of Fire
  26. Big River
  27. Don’t Take Your Guns to Town
  28. I Walk the Line