Subscribe to our newsletter

(Credit: Josh Rocklage)

Far Out presents Night Trippin' Episode #9 - 'Iceland'


Far Out’s collaboration with Resonance Extra continues to build momentum this week with our ninth episode of Night Trippin’.

Presented by Psychic Markers’ frontman Steven Dove and Far Out editor Lee Thomas, this week’s episode focuses on Iceland and particularly the work of Henrik Bjornsson.

Singer, songwriter and guitarist Björnsson formed the Icelandic rock ‘n’ roll band Singapore Sling while living in Reykjavík in 2000. Working alongside his friend and guitarist Einar Þór Kristjánsson, the duo armed themselves with some 8-track demos and set about pushing the band forward.

The band evolved to a sextet with changing lineups performing at Iceland Airwaves, Reykjavík’s main music festival, before obtaining a record deal with a local label, Hitt Records, in 2002. With nine studio albums to their name, the most coming back in 2017 through Fuzz Club Records, Singapore Sling have continually attempted to evolve their sound with Bjornsson at the helm.

Expect Singapore Sling, Dead Skeletons, Harry Knuckles and, of course, Bjork.

Night Trippin’ Tracklisting:

Singapore Sling – Never Forever
The Go Go Darkness – Daggers
Two Step Horror – Anyway
Sigur Ros and Steindor Andersen – Rimur 5
Dead Skeletons – Dead Mantra
Hljomar – Aesandi Fogur
Tatarar – Dimmar Rosir
Ben Frost – Theory Of Machines
Mum – The Ballad Of Broken Birdie Records
Bjork – Nattura
Harry Knuckles – Cold Fire
A Pink Room

To hear more of presenter Steven Dove’s work, visit his website here.