Credit: James Memmerman


Ezra Furman shares first track from his 'Sex Education' soundtrack


Ezra Furman has announced the release of the Sex Education official soundtrack.

Following the success of last year’s punk-rock riot Twelve Nudes, Ezra Furman returns with Sex Education OST, songs from series one and two of the hit Netflix TV show.

“Making music for a TV show was a new experience for me,” Furman says. “As a fan of many a high school comedy, for example, The Breakfast Club and 10 Things I Hate About You, I knew how fun the music can be, and also how emotional. I wanted to rise to the challenge.”

The 19-track LP will be released via Bella Union and is available to stream or download from 24th January, with a physical release on CD and vinyl to follow on 10th April.

With season one already in the bag for season two, Furman was allowed to fully express herself: “They trusted us completely. They were like, ‘you know what to do’. I try to imagine what’s going to be on screen as a jumping-off point, but they don’t need songs that fit, they need songs of a high quality, that come from a real place. That’s why they wanted me, I guess. Also, I guess they noticed an exuberant vulnerability. I lay all my feelings out there.”

The Sex Education soundtrack gathers the original songs that Furman composed for the first series and the brand new second series, whilst adding tracks featured on the show that can be found on prior Furman albums such as Perpetual Motion People and Transangelic Exodus.

Finished up with some older cover versions of LCD Soundsystem’s ‘I Can Change’ and Melanie’s ‘The Good Book’ there is even a new rendition of ‘Devil Or Angel’, The Clovers’ doo-wop jewel from 1956. It all adds up to a bumper 19-track set of Furman’s naked ambition for catharsis.

As a toast to the release arriving on Friday, Furman has shared the new one ‘Every Feeling’ to get you in the mood.