Subscribe to our newsletter


Death Cab For Cutie reveal new album and UK Tour


American outfit Death Cab For Cutie have today revealed their six-date tour across the UK at the start of next year in support of their new record Thank You For Today.

The new record was announced earlier this week and was accompanied with a video for their new single ‘Gold Rush’.

Frontman Ben Gibbard told NPR that the track is about Seattle, a place where he has lived for nearly 20 years. He said: “I’ve become acutely aware of how I connect my memories to my geography and [how] the landscape of the city changes. I’ll walk down Broadway and walk past a location that used to be a bar I’d frequent with friends, or somewhere where I had a beautifully intense conversation with somebody that I once loved very much.

He added: “The song is not a complaint about how things were better or anything like that. It’s an observation, but more about coming to terms with the passage of time and losing the people and the moments in my life all over again as I walk down a street that is now so unfamiliar.”

The record will come out on 17th August via Atlantic, and will be aired to fans at two shows in London next week.

The band play the Robert Smith-curated Meltdown on the 18th June, and will then play an intimate show at Scala the evening after.

The band’s tour will begin in Manchester at The Albert Hall on January 25th before visiting Glasgow, Nottingham, Leeds and Bristol before finishing up at London’s Eventim Apollo. Tickets go on sale on Friday 22nd June at 9AM.

View the tracklisting for Thank You For Today and watch the video for ‘Gold Rush’ below.

01 I Dreamt We Spoke Again
02 Summer Years
03 Gold Rush
04 Your Hurricane
05 When We Drive
06 Autumn Love
07 Northern Lights
08 You Moved Away
09 Near/Far
10 60 & Punk