Subscribe to our newsletter

Credit: Joshua Head/Bruce


Built To Spill announce Daniel Johnston covers album and share 'Bloody Rainbow'


Indie stalwarts, Built To Spill, have announced that they will be releasing a brand new Daniel Johnston covers album in tribute to the iconic late star titled Built To Spill Plays The Songs Of Daniel Johnston.

The band acted as Johnston’s backing band during his final tour in 2017, taking on spots in Vancouver and Portland.

The LP will be comprised of eleven tracks that Built To Spill have handpicked to share with us all. The recording originates from the band’s rehearsals for the original 2017 shows.

“It was pretty special for us,” Built To Spill’s Doug Martsch said of the shows, speaking to Rolling Stone. “Basically we wanted to get good documentation of what our rehearsals were like. It was a lot heavier than what I thought it would be.”

The first track to be shared from the album is ‘Bloody Rainbow’, which you can hear below.

The record arrives on May 1st via Ernest Jenning Record Co. The full tracklisting can be found below:

  1. Bloody Rainbow
  2. Tell Me Now
  3. Honey I Sure Miss You
  4. Good Morning You
  5. Heart, Mind And Soul
  6. Life In Vain
  7. Mountain Top
  8. Queenie Dog
  9. Impossible Love
  10. Fake Records of Rock And Roll
  11. Fish