Subscribe to our newsletter

Brian Jonestown Massacre return with two new albums due out in 2018


Brian Jonestown Massacre will release the first of two new albums in 2018; Something Else is out on 1st June on a Recordings. The album, which is available on 180gram white vinyl, was recorded and produced at Anton Newcombe’s Cobra Studio in Berlin.

The second album of 2018 is self-titled and will be out in September though we’re waiting to here more details on that record.

Something Else is the Brian Jonestown Massacre’s 17th full-length release, the style of which is less experimental than more recent records and harks back to the traditional sound of the band. Recorded between 2017 and 2018, this 9-track album will please old and new fans alike.

Following a relatively quiet 2017 – the band did a tour of the US East and West Coasts and Mexico City to support last year’s album Don’t Get Lost – the band have now announced tours of the USA, Canada and Australasia, and will shortly be announcing a tour throughout the UK and Europe.

Anton Newcombe has been a very busy man these past four years, having released three critically Brian Jonestown Massacre albums and an EP, one soundtrack album and one album with Far Out friend Tess Parks – the follow-up to which will be released in between the forthcoming BJM albums this year. All releases were fully recorded and produced at Newcombe’s studio.

To celebrate, the band have shared new track ‘Hold That Thought’ which become’s Far Out’s Track of the Day:

Track Listing
1. Hold That Thought
2. Animal Wisdom
3. Psychic Lips
4. Skin and Bones
5. My Poor Heart
6. My Love
7. Who dreams of cats?
8. Fragmentation
9. Silent Stream