Subscribe to our newsletter


Big Thief release two new songs


American indie rockers Big Thief have released two new songs, ‘Little Things’ and ‘Sparrow’. The pair of new tracks represent the band’s first new music since 2019.

Just like all of the band’s material, the two new tracks are propelled by the unique vocals of Adrianne Lenker, with the rest of the band providing the alternately relaxed and driving rhythms. ‘Little Things’ is lo-fi and thorny, like you’re listening in to the band recording through a studio wall, while ‘Sparrow’ is a beautifully languid acoustic folk number that is more direct and immediate, reflecting the band’s softer and more melancholy side.

“We all just scattered about the room without headphones, focused and in the music – you could feel that something special was happening,” drummer James Krivchenia recalls regarding the recording of ‘Sparrow’. “It was a funny instrumentation that had a really cool natural arrangement chemistry – Max on piano, Buck [Meek, guitarist/vocalist] providing this dark ambience, me on floor tom and snare and Adrianne in the middle of it with the acoustic and singing.”

“It’s in this sort of evolving free time signature where the beat is always changing,” Krivchenia says about ‘Little Things’. “So Max [Oleartchik, bassist] and I were just flowing with it and guessing where the downbeats were – which gives the groove a really cool light feeling.”

It’s a good time to be a Big Thief fan right now. The band recently announced a European tour set for 2022, and guitarist Buck Meek confirmed that the band’s follow up to 2019’s Two Hands is “pretty much done.” The album has yet to receive a release date or formal title, but these two tracks are just the proper amount of hold-over to last us until and an official announcement is made.

Check out the audio for both ‘Little Things’ and ‘Sparrow’ down below.