Subscribe to our newsletter

Big Thief announce new album 'U.F.O.F.'

American indie rock band Big Thief have announced their new album U.F.O.F. which is due out on May 3rd via their new label 4AD.

The album, a follow-up to second their studio album Capacity which was released in 2017, stands for “Unidentified Flying Object Friend.”

To coincide with the album news, the band have released the lead single UFOF in which lead singer Adrianne Lenker sings the words: “To my UFO friend / Goodbye, goodbye / Like a seed in the wind / She’s taking up root in the sky.”

Having again teamed up with producer Andrew Sarlo, who also handled Big Thief’s first two LPs, a press release explains that the tracks were made with a “New Age sprinkle of mystical textures and stabs.”

“Making friends with the unknown… All my songs are about this,” Lenker adds. “If the nature of life is change and impermanence, I’d rather be uncomfortably awake in that truth than lost in denial.”

Here it is:

U.F.O.F. Tracklist:
01. Contact
02. UFOF
03. Cattails
04. From
05. Open Desert
06. Orange
07. Century
08. Strange
09. Betsy
10. Terminal Paradise
11. Jenni
12. Magic Dealer