Subscribe to our newsletter

Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard announces debut solo album


Brittany Howard, the lead vocalist and guitarist of Alabama Shakes, is heading it alone and has announced her debut solo album.

The record, entitled Jaime, will be released in September and the news has been unveiled at the same time as her lead solo single ‘History Repeats’ which is available to stream below.

In an extremely personal project, Howard has explained that the album is named after her sister who died of cancer when they were teenagers. “The title is in memoriam, and she definitely did shape me as a human being,” she said in a statement. “But, the record is not about her. It’s about me. I’m pretty candid about myself and who I am and what I believe. Which is why I needed to do it on my own.” 

“I turned 30 and I was like, ‘What do I want the rest of my life to look like?’ Do I want to play the same songs until I’m 50 and then retire, or do I do something that’s scarier for me? Do I want people to understand me and know me, do I want to tell them my story? I’m very private, but my favourite work is when people are being honest and really doing themselves.”

Here it is, Far Out’s track of the day:

Jaime Tracklisting:
01 History Repeats
02 He Loves Me
03 Georgia
04 Stay High
05 Tomorrow
06 Short and Sweet
07 13th Century Metal
08 Baby
09 Goat Head
10 Presence
11 Run to Me